Hold My Hand

My sculpture professors name is Jacob Chrisopher Hammes, but he just goes by Chris. He was a grad student at Tyler, and now he teaches which is pretty spiffy if you ask me. Any-who, there was a casting demo done by him.

IMG_2765

At first he had a pre-made mold of his upper body and he slushed plaster in it as a demo. This was about the 15th time he had done this and there was still remnants of his beard stuck onto the cast.

IMG_2749

I volunteered to get my hand molded, so I picked a double jointed pose and got smooth on poured onto my hand. Smooth on is different from alginate because alginate is a one and done type of thing because it’s water based. Smooth on, on the other hand can be used repeatedly because it’s based in silicone.

IMG_2751

This chicka got her foot casted.

IMG_2763

After the smooth-on dried we put plaster over it in order to keep things structured. We did this in two pieces, so that we were able to take it apart. IMG_2768

After an exorbitant amount of time I was out!IMG_2772 IMG_2818

Next class we slushed the inside with plaster (2 parts plaster:1 part water).

IMG_2820
My hand is the one missing a part of the pinky. Unfortunately the middle finger broke off of the other one.

VOILAAAAAA~

IMG_2771
Chris made a mold of a watermelon previously and I put it on my head for funsies 🙂
Leave a Reply

